Our website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyse site traffic, personalise content, and serve targeted advertisements. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information about cookies and how we use them


Dr Julie Uí Choistealbha


Dr Julie Uí Choistealbha is the primary lead in the DEEPEN research project. She is the Dean of Education: Policy, Practice, and Society in Marino Institute of Education, Dublin.  Julie teaches on the Advanced Professional Studies module for B.Ed. and PME students, the Staidéir Ghairmiúla module on the Baitsiléir san Oideachas Trí Mheán na Gaeilge (Bunmhúinteoireacht) and the Communication for Education, and Workplace Culture and Competencies modules on the B.Sc. in Education Studies. She is a both a placement and dissertation supervisor for students on undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. She also works closely with Marino’s incoming and outgoing study abroad students. Julie’s research interests include work-based learning for undergraduate and postgraduate students of education, the Irish language, the role attitudes, perceptions and motivation play in the teaching and learning processes and the use of ePortfolios in competency- based assessment.


Dr. Melanie Ní Dhuinn


Dr. Melanie Ní Dhuinn is the post primary lead in the DEEPEN research project. She is Assistant Professor of Teacher Education in the School of Education, Trinity College, Dublin. Melanie works across Teacher Education (B.Mus Ed and PME), Master of Education (M.Ed) and Doctorate (D.Ed and PhD) courses in the School of Education and is a research supervisor and examiner for PME, M.Ed, Ph. D and D.Ed candidates. She is also a School Placement tutor across various strands of the PME. Melanie lectures in Teaching Pedagogies, School Placement, Research Methods and in the Sociology of Education. Her research interests include Teacher Education, Technology in Education, Assessment, Curriculum design, Teaching Pedagogy, An Ghaeilge Mar Mheán Teagaisc, and Research Methodology. She is also a member of the Research Ethics Committee of the School of Education.